About DEF

The Deerfield Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization made up of community members and educators working together to raise money for the benefit of students in Deerfield Public School District 109. Our mission is to meaningfully enhance the educational environment of District 109 by supporting inspiring programs and projects in partnership with our community.

We strive to fund innovative programs, enhance facilities, and support activities that create important educational opportunities above and beyond those funded by the District. We could not accomplish our mission without the generous support of our corporate donors and the community members who support our cause.




Annual Report

Click below to get a copy of our annual report, which includes a list of current donors and a description of past and future Foundation programs and initiatives.

Annual Report


Brian Gawin, President

Robyn Whiteman, Treasurer

Laura E. Schaffer, Secretary


Holly Aaronson

Sandy Robbins

Chuck Wasserstrom



Steve Altschul, Corporate Executive Board

Marci Goldberg, K-12 Market Advisors

Corey Lynn, Follett

Maureen Wilde, North Shore Country Day School Development Office

Dr. Michael Lubelfeld, Superintendent, District 109

Eileen Brett, Principal, Wilmot Elementary School

Dr. John Filippi, Principal, Shepard Middle School

Catherine Kedjidjian, Coordinator of Communications and Community Relations, District 109

Jodi Shapira, Member, District 109 Board of Education